Winter Tree

Image

We recently had a very rough winter here.  There are some who live further north who would shake their head and say, “If you think YOU had a rough winter . . .”  But, it’s all relative.  I sat stitching this as the brown and grey of winter gradually gave way to tints of white from the the blast of snow and ice.  The wind rattling up the hill made me reach for another lap rug.

The fabric ground is a simple sandwich of scrim and wool, over which I have used only the humble straight stitch.  Threads were cottons, mostly flosses, but for the tree I used a three-strand, slightly nubby silk from my friend, Jill, and together the silk and I followed the tree’s plight through the wind and weather.  It made a gentle fabric with a draping hand.

The finished size is about 7 1/2 x 11 inches.

This entry was posted in In Limbo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment